



# ACHERON: THE RIVER OF TRAGEDY



Acheron: the river of tragedy
By Xavier Villanova
Directed by Martín Balmaceda
Translation for supertitles by Susana Cook

Leonardo dreams of crossing the Acheron River to live the Death-Dream. But his desires are thwarted when a mysterious migra (immigration agent) prevents his crossing and becomes, at different times, his friend, enemy, guardian, transgressor and even his victim. A poetic, dramatic meditation on identity, migration, and the idea of "alien" at the Mexico- US border.

### With

Aline Lemus Bernal as Leonardo Cinthia Pérez Navarro as Nicanor

## Crew

Director: Martín Balmaceda

Dramaturgy: Xavier Villanova

Translation for supertitles: Susana Cook

Technical Director & Stage Manager: Pepper Fajans

Assistant Stage Manager: Yuexing Star Sun

Subtitles operator: Anthony Limongi

PR Director: Alex Vázquez Escaño

Marketing Consultant: Karla G. Mejía

# About us

XIPE Colectivo Escénico aims to create productions that encourage the meeting of diverse disciplines allowing the expansion of artists whose visions inspire, challenges and move us. They are a group of theater makers based in Mexico-US whose work articulates movement and text with different levels of physical and emotional engagement.

Martín Balmaceda - Theater director, actor, profesor at Universidad de las Americas Puebla and Co-founder of. XIPE Colectivo Escénico. His latest productions have been Acheron: The River of Tragedy in Mexico and the USA, An Enemy of the People at The Lee Strasberg Theater & Film Institute in New York and Medea at CoArtRe, in Santiago de Chile. He has also received awards and recognition for his work as best director for the play Yoleros, Independent Theater Artists Awards (ATI) and Aquerón: The River of Tragedy by the New York Latino Press Association (ACE).

Aline Lemus Bernal - Interdisciplinary performing artist, with a degree in Theater (Cum Laude) from the Universidad de las Américas Puebla. She is co-founder of XIPE Colectivo Escénico, with whom she has performed at national and foreign venues. She was nominated for the Latin ACE Awards in New York, in the category of Best Visiting Actress. She directed *Cósmica*, by Gabriela Román Fuentes, a project selected for several presentations at the National School Theater Program. As a playwright, she has written Where do the dead go?, published by Paso de Gato Press in their anthology Contemporary Puebla Dramaturgy. Currently, she is part of the creative team as an assistant director and interpreter of the interdisciplinary theater company: Teatro de Ciertos Habitantes.

Cinthia Pérez Navarro - Dancer, teacher, independent artist, graduate from the BA in Dance at Universidad de las Américas Puebla, Cholula, Mexico. Somatic Movement Educator from the Body Mind Movement Mexico program. She works for the Sisti Higher Studies Center for the Degree in Integral Scenic Dance and at IBERO Artistic Workshops campus Puebla. She is a member of the interdisciplinary binational collective Chicken Bank and co-founder of XIPE Colectivo Escénico for dance-theater productions. She has been awarded as best female performer and finalist in the V and VIII 4x4 Tj Night Choreography Contest. Lately a beneficiary of the Programa de Estímulo a la Creación y Desarrollo Artístico (PECDA 2021) with the project ANCESTRAS: Legacy in Motion, facilitating bonding spaces and body agency for Older Adults. She continues to coordinate RISOMA Retiro CI Mexico and the Contact Improv Puebla community.

# **Content Warning**

Strong language Partial nudity

# **Special Thanks**

Hansraj Maharawai, Catalina Salvo, Paulina Jáuregui González, Felipe Escalante Hurtado, María José González Amieva, Tatiana Suárez Pico, Joao Morais, Enrique Delgado, Lina Meruane, Salvador Vargas, Philippa Anderson, Gabriela Quintana, Zulivet Díaz, Cristina Goletti, César Aragón, Tania Medina, Odin Grina, Jane Fellows, Victor Ramos, Gary Spanier, Richard Clark, Erick Tepox, Michelle Ramírez Valenzuela, Jako Pérez Navarro, Pablo García Gámez, Sergio Castro Medina, Gabriela López Ramírez, Marycielo Vargas, Aurora Navarro, Vicente Pérez, Alberto Lemus, Flora Bernal, Jesus Mario Lozano, Mario Gómez Villarreal, Hernán Colmenares, Víctor Lagos, Fress Cárdenas, Georga Osborne, Cecelia Denegre, Theo Armstrong, JJ Franco, María Hernández Solano, Zulivet Díaz Román and every person in the world who has made this project possible.